Sonoff-HomeAssistant (Alternative firmware for Sonoff Switches for use with mqtt/HA)

Hey Guys

A while ago I started playing with Sonoff switches for use with HA. If you don’t know what they are you should have a look at them for your HA project. Very cheap and easy WiFi controlled relay in an easy to install unit based on a ESP8266 chip.

https://www.itead.cc/smart-home/sonoff-wifi-wireless-switch.html

If you don’t need dimming, they are the way to go.

I created a Github repository for anyone who wants to get going fast with them. Have a look here -

Any questions or suggestions I would be happy to answer.

Hope this helps some people get going quickly.

***EDIT: I added additional code to use the Sonoff for Temp / Humidity sensor as well. More details at the Github repository.

Kman :smiley:

43 Likes

Hi Kman,

I am currently running my sonoff-relay with homie-esp8266, which is easily to integrate into HA. But it’s always good to have an alternative and I will definitely check this out.

Thanks for your efforts!

1 Like

Hey jalmeroth

No problems. My version isn’t as fancy as homie. No app, http, setup file etc. Just change the topic in the sketch, upload and use. Personally I found the features unnecessary. I haven’t touched my installed switches since the day I commissioned them. They’ve never dropped their wireless connection and never played up.

When I initially started playing with ESP’s it was fun to get a web page from them for config. Now I don’t care so much and let HA do the controlling and forget that they’re even there :smile:

For a professional installer who needs to make changes on the fly say in a commercial installation, perhaps there would be benefits, but for most home users I recon they will just install and not worry about them again.

great one, just looking for such an api for sonoff
just follow the instructions on your github?

Hey