Sonoff TX Ultimate and Voice Assistant

Hi to all,
I’m new to this forum, but not new at all with home assistant…
I’ve converted (or better… tasmotized :slight_smile: ) all of my home components since 2020 with plenty of mqtt (sonoff and esp8266 based built by myself) and zigbee devices.

I’ve recently bought some Sonoff TX Ultimate to test them (well, firstly with tasmota as I’ve never tried esphome before) and their features.

These seem really cool devices:

• Touch panel with 10 horizontal points (as I live in Italy i’ve got the 120 version of these devices) and gesture support
  • up to 4 relays
  • Led controlled with standard library
  • Haptic support
  • Even a speaker!

What i’ve missed was only microphone support! So why not just add one?
After flashed with esphome I decided to pick up and solder a mems microphone.
I used an INMP441 (one of those with circular breakout board).
The microphone was soldered using these pins available on the TX Ultimate:
GND → GND Hole (the one used to power the board when flashing the firmware)
VDD → 3V Hole (the one used to power the board when flashing the firmware)
SD → GPIO 0 (The boot pin)
WS → RX Pin
SCK → TX Pin
L/R → Floating (not soldered)

The good news is that it works perfectly! I’ve tried it with my voice assistant (so with wake word, STT, TTS Feedback Etc.)

For those interested:
For better sound capture quality I’ve placed the microphone between the mainboard and the Touch PCB. The pcb itself has a small hole used for positioning it on the cover. So I’ve drilled it with a small point to remove the plastic support of the cover, and aligned the microphone with it.
I’ve also removed with a Dremel some plastic to fit the microphone. Then I’ve remounted the main motherboard and soldered the cables to it.