Starting out. Need help understanding

Hello,

I’m a newbie here and it’s my first time planning any smart home system. (have never even had a smart bulb).

While my questions may be simple for the community please bear with me and it would be greatly appreciated if you would help me understand this a little more.

Sort of background introduction:
I always lived in a smaller apt and never needed any automation.
However, we are moving into a new home and would like some help setting up.
I’m not a very tech-bright guy, but I’m pretty geeky and I like tinkering, which lead me to home assistant. I like the idea of home assistant over amazon echo, or google.

My plan for the new house is to get an ecobee smart thermostat, an encode plus smart lock, smartwings (matter) blinds, and matter/thread switches from inovelli.
Probably a smart video doorbell and some cameras around the house as well.

While I tried to learn a lot by myself, a lot confused me.

Well, first of all, is home assistant considered a hub?
A lot of devices say “This device needs a hub.”
I get confused reading about whether Homeassisant Green is a ‘hub’ or not.

Would I have a problem connecting Encode Plus smart lock, smartwings (matter/thread) blinds, inovelli switches with just home assisant green?
or do I need some other machine such as the echo? or homepod?

To control things on my phone – to unlock the smart lock, roll down the blinds, turn the light off, I see tech influencers on YouTube using Apple Home app.
Can I use Apple Home app with just Home Assistant green? or do I need a Homepod as well?
What other app do home assisant users use to control their home?

When I purchase smart home devices, I often see : ‘compatible with: echo, apple, google etc’ but I have never seen: compatible with Home Assistant.
How can I tell if the device I’m planning to purchase work with Home assisant?

I recently found out about zigbee, matter, wifi connections in smart homes.