State change persistent through reboots?

I have a question about some automations.

I have a simple automation setup that monitors the washing machine. If the power usage on that smart plug is < X for 4 minutes, it sends a notice saying the washing machine is done. This works, except in one scenario.

If I restart homeassistant. Is there anyway for that kind of state to persist through reboots? So that notices about the washing machine being done aren’t sent when the washer isn’t running :slight_smile:

Thanks

Your problem is from a lack of definition of your automation. The definition of the washer being finished is not that it doesn’t use power for 4 minutes, it is that it has been using power and then stops using power.

2 Likes

I use an input_select for that with my washing machine.

When the machine is started the select is set to “washing” and when the power usage is low again and the state is “washing” I know that the washing cycle is completed.

I am fairly new to HA. Any suggestions or examples on how to adjust the automation?

Thanks!

I need to add a condition don’t I? That the condition has to be “it was running” before it can say it’s not?

The answer to your original question is: no.

If you restart Home Assistant, or Reload Automations, any for, delay, wait_template, wait_for_trigger, repeat, etc that is in progress is cancelled. So if you have a State Trigger with a for: '00:04:00' and it’s in progress, it will be cancelled and reset after the restart/reload.

I don’t think there is a timer running. In this scenario the washer is off. I restart homeassistant. 4 minutes after the restart i get the notice saying that the washer is idle. But it was already idle. So I think when HA starts, the power rating comes in show < X watts. It triggers that 4 minute timer.

I didn’t mention a timer (but if we are talking about timers, active timers don’t survive a restart).

Post the automation so we can better understand how it’s affected by a restart.