State trigger with Ecobee hvac mode change?

Hello,

I’m new to the HA platform, another refugee from the decommissioning of the SmartThings V1 platform.
While I could just put the actions directly in an automation that’s enabling my AC at a particular time, I thought it might be useful to de-couple the actions that happen from state changes so that I wouldn’t have to maintain the same actions across multiple other automations. So the basic one I am trying to get going now would turn a switch on that would cause a fan to come on, when my Ecobee is set to enable the cool mode. I also am trying to get a corresponding one that would shut off that switch when the Ecobee mode is set to off.

Initially, the “on” action, seemed to work, but now it is not. I’m not clear why. Reading forum posts I suspect perhaps the cloud aspect to the Ecobee API might be part of it, so perhaps configuring my thermostat as a HomeKit device would help with that? I’m not quite sure yet where addressing it as HomeKit vs the native API would be better.

And a related problem, the off action I have not been able to get to fire, but I noticed in looking at mode values in the entity, 3 of the 4 values are not quoted, but the last value (off) is in single quotes. I wondered if that means I have to put it into the trigger config differently (match the quoting?). I am only using the GUI to generate the automations so far, because I am new to the platform. I have extensive coding background though, and am ok with YAML, so if adding some logic will work better here, that’s fine, I just haven’t learned the syntax for doing so. This is the definition for the “on” trigger right now:

- id: '1623428046907'
  alias: Auto-On with AC
  description: turns things on if the AC mode is enabled(ecobee set to cool)
  trigger:
  - platform: state
    entity_id: climate.main_floor
    attribute: hvac_modes
    to: cool
  condition: []
  action:
  - type: turn_on
    device_id: 39b22686bc4032bd05a41dffe8e68a7e