Steam integration issue :(

Hey :slight_smile: Im really new at HA and after watching a bunch of tutorials I wanted to give it a go by adding a feature that lets me see my online status of my Steam account.

I was following this tutorial Steam - Home Assistant (home-assistant.io)
but I think I may have misunderstood some things as I can not find the data from Steam anywhere on HA. I assumed it would be somewhere in entities but :confused: no luck

Firstly, I let to Steam and found my API key and account id.
Which was the first issue as I was asked to add a domain name (I am guessing was the HA url in this case)
Then I went into my configuration.yaml file and added this piece of code

sensor:
#Steam:

• platform: steam_online
    api_key: my api key
    accounts: my account id

Lastly I went into HA, clicked on ‘check configuration’ which was valid. and then restarted the HA server.
If someone can assist me I would be very thankful as I am a complete noob

That looks like it should work, although I assume you have the correct indentation and are using a “dash” and not a “bullet” at the start of the platform line (note it’s always better to show code using the code format, and not as text, like below)

# Steam
- platform: steam_online
  api_key: !secret steam_api_key
  accounts:
    - <account-id1> # Tracked account ID 1 name
    - <account-id2> # Tracked account ID 2 name

The domain name is the one you want to use to identify the account. After a reboot, the above show up as Entities in HA, with a format as below

sensor.steam_account-id1
sensor.steam_account-id2

Have you checked the logs for any errors ?

1 Like

Hey p4mr, thank you for your reply.
Yes it is a dash, as I wasn’t aware how to show code using code format. :slight_smile:

This is my code now
in the configuration.yaml file

# Steam
platform: steam_online
  api_key:!secret steam_api_key
  client_id:!secret steam_id

in the secrets.yaml file I have…

> steam_api_key: myapikey
> steam_id: myaccount id