Stopping app - last detail I can't work out

Hello,

I’m still learning with AppDaemon (and py in general, for that matter) but I’ve got everything working great, with one small exception - I can’t figure out how to get the app to stop.

I’m using it to run some custom lighting scenes on my Hue lights. I have a binary sensor in HA that monitors an input boolean, so when I toggle the input to “on” - the AD app starts almost immediately.

I’ve been reading the documentation and this is what I have come up with so far (The initialize is working perfectly, the stop_app, not so much):

import appdaemon.plugins.hass.hassapi as hass

class TestClass(hass.Hass):
    def initialize(self):
        self.listen_state(self.test, "binary_sensor.test_flash_sensor", new = "on")

def stop_app(self):
        self.listen_state(self.test, "binary_sensor.test_flash_sensor", new = "off")

def test(self, entity, attribute, old, new, kwargs):

while True:

import requests

I left the rest of the code out (the Hue API requests to change light colors, etc)

Appreciate any help you might be able to offer!

Hi, I think there are some things which come together.

• When you have an app like your TestClass the function initialize() is called whenever your app is started by AppDaemon. This is not the place to define conditions for your app to be started, but it is the code which will run when it is started.
  • The method listen_state() is used to register a callback for an event which is triggered by AppDaemon. In your example you register a callback to the function ‘test’, when the state of binary_sensor.test_flash_sensor is switched to on. Since you do that during initialisation, the function ‘test’ of your app is executed every time the binary_sensor is turned on.
  • The ‘stop_app’ function does nothing in your example, because it is never called. It is not a method which you should define yourself, but it is a method which you can call to manually stop a different app.