Struggling to understand Energy Dashboard, Rest Sensor Values, and necessary YAML configs

Greetings everyone. I’ve been running HA for several months now and the community has been nothing short of amazing in terms of quality information. But this past week, I’ve finally hit an issue that I am conceptually struggling to put together across several threads, my current understanding of HA, and my configuration.

Where I’m at after about a week/today
I’m able to pull my kWh usage from my energy provider via a Rest API. They provide readings every 15 minutes. This means that every 15 minutes I have a different value that could be higher or lower than the previous value, but it will always be a positive value. After some tuning/looking through the community I eventually arrived on the following.

- platform: rest
  resource: https://myrestendpoint
  name: Energy Reading
  unique_id: lysESISM
  verify_ssl: true
  method: GET
  scan_interval: 900
  json_attributes:
    - Measure
  value_template: "{{ value_json.Measure | float }}"
  unit_of_measurement: "kWh"
  device_class: energy
  state_class: total_increasing

This works perfectly (at least so I think). When I lookup this sensor via Settings → Devices & Services → Entities, I see it with the current kWh reading although it sometimes says Unavailable. But in any case, values are stored, and I have a chart that shows these readings with the values that directly match those from my energy provider.