Supervisor panel missing on Docker/Synology DSM

Hi,
I have a docker installation of HA, but I don’t have supervisor panel.
Running v 2021.1.5 on Docker (on Synology DSM)
How can I enable it?

1 Like

You don’t, you get that with the Home Assistant OS (or Supervised) install methods.

1 Like

Hi Tiago,
I encountered exactly the same problem when I started testing HA a few days ago (I’m a HA Newbie). After a great deal of searching I found that the problem seems to be due to the version of Docker that Synology currently bundles with DSM. There are some ‘hacks’ to get around the problem which are fully covered in this excellent YouTube video:
(11) Home Assistant How To - workaround for Hassio on Synology - YouTube

I wasn’t too keen on applying temporary ‘fixes’ to my setup and at this stage I was very tempted to try OpenHAB instead. However I then found another excellent article (link below) of how to install HA on the Virtual Machine Manager that is built into some models of Synology NAS’s (which it was on mine).
Link:
https://gh2home.nl/homeassistant/install-home-assistant-in-a-virtual-machine-vmm/

My installation within Synology’s VMM seems to be working perfectly and it also offers the added bonus of being able to create automatic snapshot backups. If your Synology model offers VMM I would certainly recommend trying it out.

1 Like

Thanks for the useful information.

I have VVM support on my Synology but I’m not too keen to start all over again.

Maybe one day.

Do you see as a Newbie (I am as well) advantages of using that installation?