Switch status and changing its value from another switch

I’m a total noob in Home Assistant and hope you can help me. I’ve got three switches for an air con - ‘Aircon Heat 24’, ‘Aircon Cool 20’ and ‘Air Con Power Off’ all controlled by a Broadlink remote.

- platform: broadlink
    mac: <mac>
    switches:
      - name: Aircon Power
        command_off: 'JgB2...'
      - name: Aircon Cool 20
        command_on: 'JgAG...'
      - name: Aircon Heat 24
        command_on: 'JgAG...'

They are working as expected. The problem is - I want to change the status of a switch from another switch. Say I pressed ‘Aircon Cool 20’, aircon starts, switch status is on. Now if I press ‘Aircon Heat 24’, then aircon obviously turns to heating, but both ‘Aircon Cool 20’ and ‘Aircon Heat 24’ will be on. And if I press ‘Aircon Power’ twice (turn it on then turn it off) it will turn off the aircon, but both ‘Aircon Cool 20’ and ‘Aircon Heat 24’ will be still on. So I want to change the status for ‘Aircon Cool 20’ to off if I press ‘Aircon Heat 24’ and vice versa. And also want to change ‘Aircon Power’ to on if I press either ‘Aircon Cool 20’ or ‘Aircon Heat 24’ to on. etc. I know that in that particular case it’s overcomplicated and in reality I need only two switches, but I will need all three switches later so let’s say we do need three switches. So how to change the status of one or two switches from another switch?

With automations. For example:

alias: "Cool switch off when heat switch on"
trigger:
  - platform: state
    entity_id: switch.aircon_heat_24
    to: 'on'
action:
  - service: switch.turn_off
    entity_id: switch.aircon_cool_20

alias: "Power switch on when heat/cool switch on"
trigger:
  - platform: state
    entity_id:
      - switch.aircon_heat_24
      - switch.aircon_cool_20
    to: 'on'
action:
  - service: switch.turn_on
    entity_id: switch.aircon_power
1 Like

Thanks a lot, Troon! I’ll try that. Looks like this is exactly what I need.