Switch the Smart Plug every X days "on"

Hi Folks,

i have an Eve Smart Plug. On this Smart Plug my toothbrush charger is connected.
I would like to have an automation, that switch the Charger every 10th day at midnight “on” and 23 hours later “off”. So the toothbrush is charging for 23 hours, every 10th day.

In the Eve App i only can set a specific day (e.g. Sunday). But 7 days is not enough to charge the toothbrush. The battery lasts 10 days.

Can anyone tell me, how I can manage this automation?

(Sorry I’m a newbie to homeassistant with very bad coding skills :see_no_evil:)

Charge it every 7 days, but for a shorter period?

1 Like

This is an interesting scenario, I wonder what would be the best way to handle it. I guess a proper way would be somehow with a template trigger calculating the pattern (basically if current timestamp plus offset is divisible by the number of seconds in 10 days). But I’m not sure.

I’m also wondering, what’s the point? Those chargers are designed to be on all the time. It’s such a slow charge that it doesn’t really affect battery much. Also I don’t think you can save energy this way, because the smart plug or relay is likely going to use more energy when idle.

@ShadowFist :slight_smile: i love it. and frankly, i agree…
however there’s still merit to doing it just because you can! :stuck_out_tongue:

you can do almost all of this via the ui. need to drop down to template coding just a touch.

create a datetime helper (set it to today just to get started). set it for a date only. can do this purely through the ui.

create your automation (via the ui):

trigger use a template trigger and use this for your template:

{{ now() - states(input_datetime.date_last_charged) > timedelta(days=10) }}

on the action, charge your toothbrush however you do that (switch.turn_on ??) and turn it off whenever you want (after some delay?)

then in the actions also reset the date to the current date with this:

service: input_datetime.set_datetime