Switchbot Bot Keeps Becoming Unavailable

Hi,

I am very new with Home Assistant and a beginner so bare with me!

I just got a switchbot bot, I didn’t get the hub as I read it will work with Home Assistant. However I am running into an issue where the bot will become unavailable after only a few minutes. I have scoured the internet and heaps of forums but I haven’t found a solution.

I am using the switchbot integration and it automatically comes up when adding a new device and connects with no issue.
I am able to use the switch with no delay or interference however after only a few minutes it will become unavailable and won’t respond.
I have to reload the Bluetooth integration for it to work but it will only last a few minutes. I use an Intel NUC with the inbuilt Bluetooth.
I am not using any BLE integrations.

It seems like either the device or the Bluetooth “falls asleep” once there is no interaction.

The only temporary solution I am thinking is having some kind of automation that will reload the Bluetooth integration when the device becomes unavailable however that would be constantly running every 5 or so minutes.

Anyone having similar issues with the switchbot integration or know a solution?

1 Like

Could be a signal strength issue. Switch it’s report RSSI don’t they?

Post those values over time here.

I have the same problem. It begins just after the update of HA OS to 10 I think.
I have a bluetooth light and there is no problem with it

It might be related : https://github.com/home-assistant/operating-system/issues/2485

It appears that it’s HA OS 10 the culprit. Rollback to 9.5 and everything works fine again

1 Like

Thanks this has worked!

Hope it can be fixed in future updates.

Issue still present

My issue is solved by turnOn passive scanning in Bluetooth Integration settings →

Update 10.3 has fixed the issue!

For me the issue remains, even after updating to OS 10.3. Passive scanning was already enabled.