Switching between Spotify accounts with a list in the dashboard + Chromecast audio

Hi, it’s taken me a few days to get to be able to switch between multiple users’ Spotify account with a list on dashboras, and also send the music to the Chromecast. As I have managed it, so I leave it here in case it is of interest to anyone and as a copy for me.

Switching users is relatively simple, but the chomecast gets hooked to the first user and gives error when switching. With a script to call Spotcast and an automation I have achieved it.

I am Spanish and my interface is in Spanish, so I do not know the exact names of the menus in the English interfaces, keep this in mind if the name does not match exactly.

Finally, I’m very new at this, so if you see any errors or possible improvements in the procedure, I’ll be happy to read you.

I don’t get involved anymore, I leave you the steps:

1. Link your Spotify accounts following the official instructions.

2. Install Spotcast and follow the instructions to add multiple accounts.

3. Create an “Input Select” in HA with the names of the previous accounts (Settings/Devices and Services/Helpers/Add/Input Select, or by hand)

4. Create a script to start the Chomecast with the chosen account:

alias: Start Chrome audio account
sequence:
  - service: spotcast.start
    data:
      limit: 20
      force_playback: true
      random_song: false
      repeat: "off
      shuffle: false
      offset: 0
      ignore_fully_played: false
      device_name: Audio Pincho # Your audio device name. You can use another list here to choose between audio devices
      account: "{{ states('input_select.spotify_accounts_list')|lower }}" ### Your list created in 3) ###
mode: single
icon: mdi:google-chrome
  1. Create an automation to change the above script if the account changed:
alias: Change Chromecast audio account
trigger:
  - platform: state
    entity_id:
      - input_select.spotify_accounts_list ### Your list created in 3) ###
condition: []