Synology NAS and HomeAssistant Devices

Hi guys, if you have the time and patience, I would need a little help/advice.
I am new to all this, found HA by ‘mistake’ searching for a way to control my Xiaomi Mi air purifier (pro H) without using cloud and any cloud services (like their Mi App).

Since I am a fan of Synology and I host a lot of stuff locally (calendar,contacts,files,notes etc.) and since Synology NAS has Docker, well … someone sugested HA and here I am :slight_smile:

HA configuration on the NAS went well, adding the Mi Purifier almost ok (my model is not fully supported as far as I see, but the basic functions work ok - still I had to use Mi App to set the damn thing - that was very unpleasant …)
When I want to access HA on my iPhone/browser, I make an OpenVPN connection home and it is perfect.

Now I also have some smart outlets/socket that were connected to iOS AppleHome, but I added them to HA too to have everything in one place.

I would now like to purchase some more devices (is it an addiction? :smiley: ) but I read contradicting things, so wanted to ask you guys it they work or not with HA (without re-programing, writing code, or doing very geeky configs).

I want a door/window sensor, like the ones with two parts (magnetic I guess) - found something like Sonoff DW2 WiFi, others no-name that says IFTTT compatible or Tuya compatible, but not sure I am on the right track with HA …

So what do you guys think ?
Thanks a lot!

1 Like

Hey are welcome to the HA on Synology club :slight_smile: We should make T-Shirts :wink:

My setup mostly is based on stuff you don’t need to flash new firmware on - I use Zigbee devices with Zigbee stick in Synology. Depending on version of DSM, you’ll need to get drivers. And you don’t need Conbee stick, you can just get one of the recommended stick from Zigbee2mqtt web site. And yes, I use Zigbee2MQTT over ZHA (that is internal to HA) - installation is easy and works nicely in Docker.