Syntax in different files, Sensors not shown

Hi,

I am new to HA and I have read a lot of stuff but struggling with some of the stuff.
I organized my configuration.yaml (CY) to have different directories for template, themes, sensors, rest-commands because I believe it is more clearly to have single files for stuff that belongs together each in one directory and I do not want a big file with all e.g. sensors in it.

But now the first thing: I recognized that there is a slightly different syntax between configuration.yaml and a single yaml in the above dirs - why?
You have to look carefully on examples / tutorials, is it for CY or for a single yaml.
It is hard for a newbie.

Than the next big big big thing.

I have some self-made stuff (and in the following pihole) which give me back a result as json.

In case of pihole, you can control some stuff by REST and you can have a status by REST.

So I wrote in CY rest_command: !include_dir_merge_named restcommands

Than in that dir I put a yaml with this

pihole_block_off_10:
  url: "http***/admin/api.php?disable[...]"
  method: post
  content_type: "application/x-www-form-urlencoded"
  verify_ssl: false

ok, I can now have a Button in UI to set this value, it is working.

In a browser I got back: {"status":"disabled"}

How to deal with the result?
How does the sensor has to look like to give this message out in a card?
(Please remember, I will use a single sensor_pihole_disable.yaml for this)

Like above there is another REST comand to get full status:

{
  [...]
  "status": "disabled",
  "gravity_last_updated": {
    "file_exists": true,
    [...]
    "relative": {
      "days": 2,
      "hours": 17,
      "minutes": 36
    }
  }
}

And this is my try to get the field status from status json.

- sensor:
  - name: template_custom_pihole_status
    unique_id: template_custom_pihole_status
    icon: mdi:wall-fire
    state: "{{ state_attr('rest_command.pihole_rest_status', 'status') }}"