System design and on ground support in Sydney

Hi Folks

I’m new to the Automation world, and commencing a house build in a couple of months, and looking to build an automation layer into the build. I much rather the idea of the Home Assistant approach that gives me full flexibility moving forward over one of the more traditional “Home Automation” systems (cbus/crestron/control4 etc - which all seem to lock you into their proprietry systems and hardware) - I’m sure i’m preaching to the converted here.

However, whilst I love tech and gadgets, i’m time poor and don’t want to build a rod for my own back longer term.

As such I’m looking for someone on the ground in Sydney (AU) to help design and support - any recommendations?

Primary requirements are: lighting control, heating/cooling control, blinds, access. Then there’s additional things such as pool heating/lighting, sonos, etc.

I plan on installing Ubiquity/Unifi networking gear and highly likely their security/camera system too.

Any recommendations?

Thanks in advance - Scott

There is a similar post on Whirlpool which has some suggestions.

I think that you are on the right path by planning early. I’m in Sydney and finished my new build last year. Below is what I learned from the experience.

1. Have a manual reversion option for critical functions so that if your home automation isn’t working you can still live in your house and your family won’t turn on you.
  2. For fixed infrastructure use wired interfaces where possible, e.g. WAPs, TV, blinds, etc.
  3. Be prepared to tinker and gradually add functionality.

Specifically, I have the following hardware:

• Network: I had a network port added in the top of a central linen cupboard to use as HA hub. The builder also installed the home alarm box there which made it easy to connect. I pre-wire RJ45 points in a central place in each level of the house for a roof mounted WAP.