Taking a crack at UPB platform development

I’ve been experimenting with HA using Z-Wave (works great–better than anything else I’ve tried). In addition to various Z-Wave devices (switches and lights) I also have UPB switches. I’m a competent Python developer, so I’m planning to take a crack at developing a “platform” module for UPB. Since I’m relatively new to HA, I’m still pretty fuzzy on how to go about doing that.

I’ve been looking at the source on Github and reading the developer documentation, but I still have lots of questions. For example, I think using Z-Wave as a reference makes sense (like Z-Wave, UPB has switches, lights, scenes, etc. and can be controlled as well as generate events, like when a switch is manually turned on/off), but the source contains multiple Z-Wave modules, and it’s not clear which (if any) I should model my UPB modules after. It seems like there are separate modules for Z-Wave “control” and “sensor” functions, or maybe it’s different modules for different types of Z-Wave devices? I can see implementing UPB in “phases” (i.e. switch control, light control, “sense” input, etc.), but I’m not clear if that’s the right approach, in keeping with the HA design methodology.

Can anyone (i.e. with more experience with HA in general, and better yet, someone that has a deeper knowledge of the code) point me in the right direction? I’m looking for help in understanding the structure of “platform” modules and what design considerations I need to take into account. Thanks in advance!

Not sure if this will help, but there are several threads in the development forum requesting it. One of them has links to some coding that may get you started.

I’m not a python coder (although I’m willing to learn), but I do have access to a Leviton UPB system that has light switches, plug-in modules, alarm system and thermostats, so I’m willing to help test things.