Taking Home Assistant to the next level. Home Assistant.. Assistant? - AI-powered Machine Learning for HA

Hey guys. So, I’m a programmer / AI (Machine Learning) Dev… and I was talking to a few other devs ( @ThisITGuy @dgomes ) about a pretty killer idea for a Home Assistant service

It would be a feature that used Artificial Intelligence / Machine Learning to suggest automations. For example it might say “hey we noticed that every day at 9:00 AM you ring your Tile Item Finder… would you like to set up an automation?” It could also do more complex stuff for example: “we noticed that whenever there’s motion downstairs on a Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday, when it’s cloudy you turn on the pantry lights… would you like to set up an automation?”

It would be basically like the Nest Learning Thermostat but for the entire home.

But it would probably be a project where i’d need other devs on board though

A few devs I spoke to said they were interested, but the more the merrier.

How could this be done? Well you would just need to feed the Algorithm (I’m thinking a simple SVM or even Decision Tree) the data and it would make the predictions based off that.

Where would we get the data? Well fortunately Home Assistant already logs all of this.

This could be used as Training Data.

This would obviously have to be done securely given Home Assisant Users preference for privacy. An algorithm like this can be done locally. Now you’re saying “yea okay… many HA users run the server on a Raspberry Pi and similiar devices… you can’t AI on those little devices.” And 10 months ago, you may have been right. But recently Google released Tensorflow Lite, which is specifically designed for microcontrollers. A raspberry Pi would be significantly overpowered for what TFL needs.

Tensorflow Lite is designed for microcontrollers. It runs beautifully on a RPi.