Template Help for a newbie

I am extremely new to HA and i am trying to write my first automation basically i think i need a template that checks two sensors and sends me a notification to me on my Cell phone.

Here is my 1st crack: the if statement works
`
template:

• sensor:
    state: >
    {% if states(“sensor.outdoor_temperature”)|float > 40 and states(“climate.home”) == ‘heat’ %}
    action:
    - service: notify.mobile_app_brian_iphone1
    data:
    title: Temperature is above 40 Degrees!
    mode: single
    {% endif %}
    `
    Not sure really how to do this and any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Brian

You have mixed the configuration for a Template sensor with that used for an Automation… which do you want?

Also please format configurations and code in your posts using ``` at the beginning and end. In addition to being easier to read it prevents quote marks get messed up when being copied and pasted.

I am trying to create an automation based off of the if statement. if temp is above 40 and heat mode is on, send a notification to my phone.

For this you do not need an if statement. Template triggers fire when they evaluate to true, so your template needs to be set up to evaluate as true or false:

trigger:
  - platform: template
    value_template: >
      {{ states('sensor.outdoor_temperature') | float(0) > 40 
      and is_state('climate.home', 'heat') }}
action:
    data:

To do the same with an if statement, the template would need to be:

{% if states('sensor.outdoor_temperature') | float(0) > 40 and is_state('climate.home', 'heat') %}
true
{% else %}
false
{% endif %}

Thanks, i am just trying to figure it out. I appreciate the help!

this goes in the configuration.yaml file? If so, it says that integration trigger: not found. Sorry