Template If/Then and generated content

Hi all,
I have a automation that runs a script when my camera detects motion and that sends it off through the Google Ai Generative integration and the results come back as generated content. That all works fine but I now ask in the prompt for it to respond with “Camera has detected motion however no obvious motion observed comparing snapshots” which works when trees or something set off the motion. Again this all works fine…

Now what I am trying to do though is stop the script sending the notification to one device and not the other if the response contains the above with a if/then/else in my script.

However my yaml seems to ignore the if part and still fires off the notification no matter what. Below is what I have, any ideas on why it is ignoring the “if statement?” I am guessing it’s not getting the generated content or the stop part isn’t right but I am no programmer! I am learning as I go, any tips pointing me in the right direction on what I am doing wrong? Thank you in advance! :slight_smile:

if:
  - condition: template
    value_template: >
      "{{ generated_content['text'] }}" == "{{ 'Camera has detected motion however no obvious motion observed comparing snapshots' }}" 

then:
  - stop: ""
else:
  - service: notify.mobile_app_adams_iphone_15_pro_max
    metadata: {}
    data:
      title: Driveway 1 Motion Detected
      data:
        image: /local/snapshots/driveway1_snapshot2.jpg

You’ve gone a little crazy with the quotes… to the point you are just building a string.

The comparison operator == needs to be inside the expression {{ }}.

if:
      {{ generated_content['text'] == 'Camera has detected motion however no obvious motion observed comparing snapshots' }}
then:
else:
    data:
      title: Driveway 1 Motion Detected
      data:
1 Like