Template works in template editor but not as trigger for an automation

Hi, I’m new to templates so I tried my template first in Dev tools, then used it as trigger for an automation.

In an automation I want to trigger turning on the light when at the same time the Xiaomi Aqara sensor detects motion, and the light reading from the same sensor is lower than a threshold.

I am using a template because a condition would not work: the same automation also turns off the light when no motion is detected (I use two triggers and a Trigger condition).

So, after cleaning up the “turn off” trigger, which works as intended, the trigger not triggering is:

alias: 'Presence: Lights green rooom'
trigger:
  - platform: template
    value_template: >-
      {{ states('input_boolean.presence_green_room') and
      (states('sensor.0x00158d0007504da8_illuminance_lux') | float < 150) }}
    id: present
condition: []
action:
mode: single

After walking into the room and verifying that the automation was not triggered (there’s no trace log at all), that the input_boolean was “on”, and that the brightness was lower than 150, I checked the template in the dev tools:

{{ states('input_boolean.presence_green_room') and
        (states('sensor.0x00158d0007504da8_illuminance_lux') | float < 150) }}

The output is “true”.

So why wasn’t the automation triggered?

Thanks in advance.

Just for what it’s worth, you actually could use conditions. You simply have the motion detector as the trigger, with no to or from state - so that it will trigger the automation whenever to changes to any state.

The in actions you use choose, which now enables you to choose actions based on the state of the motion sensor, and then you can add conditions.

I don’t see anything obviously wrong with your template though - well except from the fact that if the input_boolean was already on, then no state has changed and thus the automation won’t be triggered…