(the way to) adding automation, templates, sensors, etc

I have been using Home Assistant for several years now. Until recently I only used some simple Automations, which I created via the Visual Editor. Now that I want to take care of some more advanced matters, I regularly see an error message that the Visual Editor does not support the syntax. Also, the error message of an error in the code (during a Save) sometimes persists, even though the (typing) error has already been resolved. Looks like the Editor gets stuck in auto formatting and guessing what I probably wanted to type…

I’m now leaning towards inserting/editing directly into the designated .YAML documents. However, I now wonder how others approach this. If I add an Automation directly in the Automations.yaml, it does not appear to be visible in the Automations overview under the Device.
Do you create basic automation using: the Visual Editor and then adjust it via, for example, the File Editor (in order to maintain a relationship with the device and have the Entity automatically filled)?
Or do you not value this?
the downside to the File Editor in my opinion is that there doesn’t seem to be any autocomplete.

I don’t really value it but…

All my automations are written in yaml and they show up on the devices they use.

Are you giving your automations a unique_id?

1 Like

Don’t add it to automations.yaml. I believe if you do that then the system reformats the code in that file to be consistent with the UI editor entries.

you should create another automations folder (call it ‘automations_manual’ or something). then reference that folder in your configuration.yaml file.

here’s mine as an example:

## only used for the testing of the GUI editors
automation: !include automations.yaml

## All of my regular automations go here
automation manual: !include_dir_merge_list automations_manual/