This error message: "Message malformed: required key not provided @ data['at']:

Sorry to create a new topic, but I’ll explain here.
OK, I’m new to Home Assistant. I’m fairly logical in my thinking, or at least I used to think so. Anyway, I’m just trying to start out basic writing yaml code, and go from there.
[My installation: I’m running a NUC with Ubuntu desktop 20.04, then installed HA in docker containers using Docker-Compose. (The reason I chose that route, instead of HAOS, is because I didn’t want to be limited by the choice of “add-ons.”) But none of that should matter here, everything seems to operate normally. I say “normal” meaning the software, UI, etc. seem to be as expected.]
However, every time I try to configure something, I keep running into the same error code on everything I do, sometimes it’s a subtle variation of that error. I tried googling it, and also searching on this form, but every time I found a link, the people were trying to do things much more complicated than what I’m trying to do.
(I do know that sometimes I overthink things, maybe that’s part of it.) If I could understand what the error code is telling me, I think I could figure out how to fix it.
I understand the importance of formatting, and I know that often times what seems like a “complicated error code” just comes down to a missing indent or a forgotten bracket (or semicolon, like in Pascal). As far as I can tell, that doesn’t seem to be the problem here.
I really though I had it this time, I’m just trying to turn off 3 lights for bedtime. The times are for weekdays vs weekends. I used the UI for most of the script, then I “opened in yaml editor.” I added 2 templates that I got from a post on this forum that are supposed to work. (In fact, my first attempt was to copy-paste the entire code, then I just changed the times, maybe a name–but got the same error when I tried to save it–even though the OP said it worked!