Thoughts on creating efficient system-wide standard helpers and automations

Hello. I am new to Home Assistant (HA), but not so new to Home Automation (H/auto).

I am intending to migrate all my disparate systems (Veras with PLEG, Domoticz, various proprietary cloud etc.) under the one glorious HA local umbrella and binning off the other ‘brains’. So far, I’ve migrated a few devices of various types that the wife doesn’t use or notice and am trying to get to grips with the HA ways of defining, scripting, automation etc.

I have some very definite implementation requirements which have come about through being burnt several times with H/auto. To try and give a flavour of this, I always have additional fields that contain the date/time of last on, last off and last change of a boolean as standalone fields that survive reboots of the state engine. I insist on having multiple sensors and actuators for security critical elements to provided redundancy. I also never have a button/switch directly control an actuator. A button/switch or other input will adjust a ‘request’ or ‘desired’ state which then gets processed through the system to affect other aspects of the system according to schedules and other inputs. Caretaker automations compare the desired state(s) with actual state(s) to action change. With a typical device MTBF of 100,000 hours and having around 160 devices I have come to expect device failure every month, so the system needs to survive these failures and allow for easy replacement of the affected parts without bringing the whole system down. My initial playing with HA suggests that HA seems naturally more resilient to this, but still…

To put this into context, I’ll discuss my garage door.