Tide Times

I really am loving HASS. After a couple of months of playing I am starting to form a setup that I’m getting really happy with. Kudos to all the developers involved in creating a super friendly home automation platform (I’ve tried many others) and I’m fully converted!

There seems to be no limit to what is possible and, as I live near the sea, I thought it’d be cool to have a Tide Times Sensor so that I can know when the next high tide and low tide will be. I’m also hoping to create some cool automations for the future.

e.g. If it’s low tide in an hour, the temperature is above a certain amount and the sun is above the horizon send me a notification “Head to the beach!”

I’m a complete rookie with Python but I managed to cobble something together and integrate it with my setup using the Command line Sensor. It’s probably not the most elegant code but it works :slight_smile:

If there’s any interest in a sensor like this for measuring the tides I’d love to give back by helping to integrate this in as an official HASS component.

11 Likes

Comments must be at least 10 Characters so I’ll just say

Cool!!!

Wish I lived near the beach.

A great idea - you should post your code as I am sure others will try this out. I’d like to see how you did this to see if it could be adapted for river heights.

I also would like to point out that you made very good choices for your MDI icons! They really work well for what you are measuring.

I also live near the beach and this would be incredibly useful to have as part of my own set up, great work. I’d love to see this as a HASS component.

Let me join the group and say that I would really enjoy this feature as well. We live a few miles from the beach and would like to know the tide conditions before I head out.

Awesome, would you mind posting your code/scripts please? I’ve been looking to do the same thing with another app on my Pi; and i’m new to Python as well.

Thanks,