Totally New to HA - Very Daunting Experience

Hi guys,

I just recently switched to try and get to know HA as we’re in the planning stage to build our new home so I wanted to see what my options were.

I like lots about HA, it seems really powerful but it’s so daunting, frustrating, difficult to find information, difficult to get help so I’m starting to think it might not be my best option.

I have over 20 years experience as a software developer so god knows how this would be possible for someone with no IT background, probably impossible.

The best help I’ve seen so far is from a few YouTube creators that have been great and only for their help I’d have gotten nowhere. I’ve a few posts in this forum but they’re getting no traction at all…

Don’t get me wrong, it has been enjoyable to finally get some parts working but it’s so manual and I the better half isn’t impressed so for with any automations I’ve been able to set up compared to my old basic Alexa routines etc…

I’m not just going to give up yet but I think I need to investigate other alternatives like Hubitat or similar less manual setups.

Anyone else finding this familiar and have any suggestions for alternatives or better to stick with this and suffer more pain for bigger gain in the long run?

Cheers,
Mac

Start small with HA. I’m not in IT, but technical. I don’t code, but can dabble in it. It starts making sense in baby steps. Each integration or device you add gets you more hooked.

Read the official integration pages. They’re your best starting point, then look here in the forum for examples.

You’ll find complexities in any system, with Hubitat having it’s own quirks. I came from SmartThings and Vera. Home Assistant is light years ahead of both in capabilities.

1 Like

Hi there,

Thanks for the reply.

My setup so far is very basic, in part mostly due to my lack of knowledge.

However, every device I had set up in Smart Life, Hue, Tado are now set up in HA, very basically.