Tracking State of Dumb Fan to Calculate Number of IR Signals to Send

Hello! First post. I’ve done my best to read the rules first - and search for other similar questions.
But my apologies if I’ve missed anything - I’ve dabbled with very basic Alexa automation, but this is my first step into deeper waters.

I have a window fan that takes an IR signal. It has 2 buttons:
Button A cycles thought the speeds (0, 1, 2, 3)
Button B cycles though fan direction (in, out, exchange)

I have a Broadlink RM Pro, and have written two HA scripts that send the two signals - I’ve tested them, everything is great there.

Now I would like to have a button on the dash that that allows me to easily select the fan settings, where I can get to each speed and airflow option with a single click.

The closest forum post I’ve found is this one: Automation to set fan speed using momentary button cycle - #8 by WittyHat

I feel like I can mostly follow what’s being done there, but I’m still learning, and I don’t know enough to know how to modify it to fit my use case.

Specifically, because my fan is dumb, there is no way to get any state information from it.
I need to know its current state in order to know how many signals to send to get it to the desired state.

Perhaps in the future, I’d get some sort of power monitoring device, and track it that way (that will also guard against it getting out of sync if someone pushes the button manually)
But for the sake of learning, I’d like to keep things as simple as possible for the time being.

As best as I can figure, I’ll need to add something to configuration.yaml to persistently keep track of the last known states, and then follow more or less the same steps outlined in the post I’ve linked.

Would an input_number be the best approach?

Something like:

input_number:
  back_bedroom_window_fan_speed:
      name: Back Bedroom Window Fan Speed
      min: 0
      max: 3
      step: 1