Trigger: numeric_state (too late for WTH)

Why is there no ‘equal to’ option for numeric_state triggers and conditions?

It would be so much more useful than having to set both above and below.
Especially now that helpers can be used.

What if I want to trigger when a value is exactly the value in the helper (which I do :wink:)

I think it’s because most sensors report their state periodically and in discrete steps. There is no guarantee that when a sensor’s state goes from, say, 5 to 10 it will ever report a state of 6 or 7.5 or 8.657.

State trigger is equal to.

Very fair point.

But still not convincing enough for me to think that it makes any sense that the small (I am guessing) extra bit of code needed for ‘equal to’ should have been omitted.

(Please don’t anyone trot out the usual remark when someone suggests a change is small or easy - I am no Python programmer and even less of a GitHub user :wink:)

And with the ‘recent’ addition of helpers allowed in the ‘above’ or ‘below’ it makes less sense.

In a software context it can be a can of worms. If a sensor is represented truely as integer numbers equal may be possible to get reliable. But sensors in general are floating point. And comparing floating point in programs is hit or miss.

What you see as 5 deg C may internally in the program be 5.0000001 or 4.9999999 and then a comparison is not equal. You want to avoid comparing floating points to be equal in computer programs. You only compare numbers to be equal that are type set as integers. Having type setting in a UI for normal people is a bit geeky to explain and understand. Alternative is to define an interval around a value that makes it equal but then - who defines that tolerence? Is it +/- 0.1? Or 0.01? It depends on what you measure. A real can of worms

Again, very fair points (and I think we might have, erm… ‘clashed’ before over the use of zero a long time ago).

The thing is, surely ‘normal people’ would expect to be able to compare with ‘equals’?