Trigger on time influenced by temperature

Hi,

I’m fairly new to Home Assistant and after setting up some sensors etc. I have started dipping my toes into automation. Apart from configuring some “simple” automations I followed an existing example for how to create an alarm clock that can send a push notification…and got it working.

Now I want to create a new automation that should trigger on a time that is based on a given time, like an alarm clock, but depending on the outside temperature the actual trigger time should be X minutes ahead of the given time. It is supposed to turn on an electrical car heater and to be eco friendly it should be enabled as short as possible and the time you set is the time that the car should be warm and ready.

Example:

• Departure time is set to 8:00
  • If the outside temp is 0 to -5 the trigger time should be 7:00 (1 hour before)
  • If the outside temp is -5 to -10 the trigger time should be 6:45 (1 hour 15 mins before)
  • If the outside temp is -10 to -15 the trigger time should be 6:30 (1 hour 30 mins before)

Does this make sense?
If so, any ideas on how I can go about to achieve something like this?

I guess if you have an alarm clock that you are familiar with the time sensor and the template trigger ?

Your rule can be adding 2mn per degree below zero (which would also remove 2mn per degree above 0)
You’ll need :

• one time sensor : sensor.time
- platform: time_date
  display_options:
    - 'time'
  • one input_datetime that has only time (not date), and contains your wake up time (8:00 in your example) (or you can put 28800 instead in the trigger)
  • one input_number that contains the outside temp (or any weather source, for instance yweather, that would be sensor.yweather_temperature)

Your template trigger would look like this, of course depending on the name of the objects needed :

trigger:
    - platform: template