Triggering end of a timer and call an action

Hello!

I’m new with Home Assistant and just set up everything new in my house (coming from Homey). I think HA is amazing so far. :grinning: But now im struggeling with some basic timer. I’m not a coder but wanna learn that slowly now. It’s fun!

I created a timer with the helpers with entity name timer.flur_tags.

I’m starting that timer sucessfully with an automation

action:
  - service: light.turn_on
    data: {}
    target:
      entity_id: light.flur_schiene_komplett
  - service: timer.start
    data: {}
    target:
      entity_id: timer.flur_tags

But now I’m struggeling turning the lights off when timer is done. I can’t save the automation and HA is telling me Message malformed: expected dict for dictionary value @ data[‘event_data’]:

alias: Flurlicht aus nach Timer
description: ''
mode: single
trigger:
  - platform: event
    event_type: timer.finished
    event_data: timer.flur_tags
condition: []
action:
  - service: light.turn_off
    data:
      transition: 10
    target:

Still after lots of research I didn’t really find a solution.

Could you please help me? Thanks a lot!

Sebastian

I’ve never used that event but try this instead to see if it works:

- platform: event
    event_type: timer.finished
    event_data: 
      entity_id: timer.flur_tags

When in doubt, refer to the examples in the documentation (which demonstrates how to use an Event Trigger for a timer and, like finity suggested, the issue is indentation of event_data's entity_id option).

Is that timer something you want to control via the UI or is it more like a “set” time that’s always the same? Like “turn off the light after five minutes”?