Trouble with Code/Template/Sensors for Wind Direction

Hello,

I’m new to all of this. I’m building a weather station with my students. I have a weather vane that has four hall sensors in it to measure wind direction. I have no issues with the binary_sensor code to get the weather vane to measure the four cardinal directions. It works perfectly.

However, I have another portion of code that is supposed to allow the weather vane to also measure NW, SW, NE, and SE (When the North and West hall sensors are both triggered, it will read NW for the direction), but I cannot get this code to work. I am borrowing this code from someone else and it appears to be correct. I run it through a yaml checker and it says the code is good. ChatGBT says it’s good. I’ve seen several people on this forum who have the exact same code, with the same indentation in the same blocks.

When I validate the code in ESP Home, it says, “[sensors] is an invalid option for [sensor.template]. Please check the indentation.” If I adjust the indentation to make the red line go away, it says “mapping values are not allowed here.” It does not like the “sensors” line.

I have tried to put this file in my main yaml file. I have tried to put it in the configuration.yaml file, like most people say to do and I don’t get any errors, but it doesn’t work. It shows the dash in red though. I’ve tried to put the code under binary_sensor and I’ve tried every other possible option, but it still doesn’t work.

Oddly enough, I do see the Wind Direction Sensor listed under Sensor now, but there is no reading.

I must be missing something. Am I supposed to create something for the “platform: template” somewhere else? Do I need to create something for “sensors” somewhere else? Is there some other process about creating a template that I’m not doing?