Trying to make template sensor to record data at regular intervals - now() in template not automatically getting evaluated?

Hey all,

I want to preface this by saying that I am quite new to coding in home assistant and I fully expect this to be some stupid mistake on my end, but I genuinely cannot figure out what is wrong. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

So, a few days ago, I got myself some Bluetooth-based plant sensors and thought it would be fun to integrate them with Home Assistant. These sensors are the Xiaomi HHCC Flower Care sensors and after setting them up in the manufacturer’s app, I added them to Home Assistant using the Xiaomi BLE integration. That part was a piece of cake. One issue I have with the sensors is that they will occasionally become unavailable in Home Assistant for minutes to hours at a time and then somehow return back to normal. This is weird because it normally only happens to one sensor at a time, it is not always the same sensor, and all sensors work fine with the manufacturer’s app even when they’re unavailable in Home Assistant. However, this is a very strange problem for me to fix another time - today, I would like to focus on something hopefully far more tractable.

So as you can imagine, I wanted to make some graphs from the sensor data, so that I can e.g. see how a plant’s soil moisture develops over time after I water it. I have InfluxDB set up to record all sensors and use Grafana for visualisation (but please note I am not an expert in either!).