Trying to set Climate in HA to Function like an EcoBee (or Other Smart Thermostat), Need Some General Guidance

I am used to having an EcoBee thermostat, and my new house has ductless mini splits in each room instead of central air. I am new to home assistant and trying to basically implement the features that the EcoBee had. I’m finding that the learning curve for HA is massive, even coming from an IT background. Basically, the features I would like to implement are:

1. Climate profiles such as Home, Away, and Sleep which adjust the temperature in each room based on a preset.
  2. Switching between profiles for home/away triggered by geofencing, and home/sleep by hitting a button on my phone.
  3. EVENTUALLY, I would like to add motion sensors which would set back the temperature in rooms that are unoccupied. It would need to have a buffer and use the history, so simply walking through a room to pick something up wouldn’t trigger it. For example: “If motion detected at least 5 minutes of past 30 minutes, then room is occupied… else: room is unoccupied”
    a. Can I have some guidance on how the best way to achieve this would be?

One of the things that overwhelms me with home assistant is all of the terms! We have devices, integrations, services, entities, objects, helpers, templates, integrations, automations, scenes, scripts, blueprints, addons, areas, dashboards, YAML… and the list goes on. It’s really hard to see how these all fit together without any working examples to go off of.
Do I want to trigger the climate adjustments in an automation, or create a scene for them (home, away, sleep) and use the automation to call that? The integration for the minisplits uses a climate object for each unit. The problems I have encountered with the scenes are: