Trying to track visitor presence/activate 'guest mode' via a guest network - is this possible?

When I have visitors over for a few days, I’d like to avoid giving them access to my main Wifi network. Therefore, I’ve setup a guest network on my Linksys Velop system and can give them access to this.

What I’d like to automate, if possible, is that the moment a device connects to this guest network HA flips a Input Boolean to activate a Guest Mode that alters some standard automations like lights, thermostat, etc. Then, when all devices leave the guest network, the Guest Mode is switched off, returning things back to normal.

Have done some googling and it seems that setting up an Nmap device tracker might be the solution i’m after but i’m struggling to get it to work.

I can set up Nmap tracking for devices on my main network (192.168.1.1) but when i try to do the same for the guest network (192.168.3.1) it doesn’t pick up any devices.

I’m new to HA, but i suspect the issue is that HA can’t see across subnets? Even though the Nmap documentation seems to allude to the fact that this should be possible. Or am i misunderstanding something key here?

Here’s what i’ve put in my config.yaml, for reference:

device_tracker:
  - platform: nmap_tracker
    hosts:
    home_interval: 10
    exclude:

- platform: nmap_tracker
    hosts:
      - 192.168.3.0/24
    home_interval: 10

Any suggestions would be appreciated. At the very least i’m sure i’ll learn a little more about what’s possible/not possible with tracking via Nmap :slight_smile:

I had some issues with the nmap tracker (on the same network) and didn’t attempt to work out what was causing it to not work. I have a Raspberry PI with Raspbian so I wondered if there might be a problem with the nmap version I was using.