Trying to Trigger Automation When One Netatmo Weather Station Reports Lower Temperature Than Another

I’m new to Home Assistant, and I’m trying to set up an automation that is based on the temperature readings from 2 different Netatmo Weather Station modules.

Specifically, one weather station module is inside, and the other is outside. I want to create an automation that will turn on a switch that is connected to a window fan whenever the outside temperature is equal to or less than the inside temperature. I have already set up the Netatmo integration, and the “Overview” page of HA shows all of the Netatmo sensors along with their temperature readings. The relevant entity ids are:

sensor.netatmo_bedroom_temperature ## (inside temperature)
sensor.netatmo_patio_temperature ## (outside termperature)

Based on other examples I found online, I inputted the following into my automations.yaml file:

automation:
- alias: 'Bedroom hotter than outside'
trigger:
platform: template
value_template: {{states.sensor.netatmo_bedroom_temperature.state >= states.sensor.netatmo_patio_temperature.state}}
action:
service: switch.turn_on
data_template:
entity_id: switch.window_fan

But I am getting the following error when I try to validate the configuration:

Error loading /config/configuration.yaml: invalid key: “OrderedDict([(‘states.sensor.netatmo_bedroom_temperature.state >= states.sensor.netatmo_patio_temperature.state’, None)])”
in “/config/automations.yaml”, line 6, column 0

Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong?

single line templates require the templates to be wrapped in quotation marks. either single or double makes no difference. EXCEPT if you use quotation marks inside the template then the ones inside the template have to be opposite the ones outside.

and be sure to use the standard text style marks not the “fancy curly” ones that some word processors will use. as long as you are using a simple text editor then you should be fine.