Trying to use timestamp with offset as a trigger

As I’m not good with templating I’ve exhausted all my abilities with many hours trying various things in the template dev tool and reading previous posts etc.

I have a sensor from the Android companion app which provides my next alarm and I’d like to use that along with an offset (which I’d like to grab from an input datetime) to use as a trigger for an automation. I want to trigger an automation to gradually turn a light on based on subtracting the offset from the alarm time.

Sensor to use from the companion app: sensor.dave_s_s22_next_alarm currently has this state: 2024-07-31T21:05:00+00:00

I’ve created input_datetime.daves_next_alarm_offset which is currently set at 00:15:00

If someone can please help me create the template to subtract the input datetime offset from the alarm time and use that as a trigger, that would be great.

Here’s one way to do it:

alias: example
trigger:
  - platform: template
    value_template: >
      {% set t = (states('sensor.dave_s_s22_next_alarm') | as_timestamp
        - state_attr('input_datetime.daves_next_alarm_offset', 'timestamp'))
        | timestamp_custom('%H:%M') %}
      {{ now().strftime('%H:%M') == t }}
condition: []
action:
  ... your actions ...
2 Likes

A totally different approach for a similar outcome is with the Sleep as Android app. I’ve got it sending events via MQTT and it has events for “before alarm” which is 60 minutes early I think, as well as delays for the sound alarm.

My bed heater kicks on way early to get me out of deep sleep, then the lights fade in and a bit later the alarm sounds.

Using the template is definitely more flexible, but a similar outcome. :coffee:

I do actually use this app which is where the alarm time is coming from, via the companion app. I’ll look into this ‘before alarm’ entity. It currently doesn’t exist in my HA but I’m guessing it must need to be configured in the app first.