Turn Xbox one on

Let HA turn xbox one ON.

I found this awsome script but I’m no programmer

Needed is
Xbox One IP Address
Xbox One Live Device ID

I have everything connected to my xbox. TV and home cinemaset. My xbox turns this on and off aswell. So this will be a great feature for me

2 Likes

I am not a programmer aswell, but you can already use it in Home Assistant.
I don’t know what your setup is, but i have an raspberry 2 and used the all in one installer to install Home Assistant.

So first thing you need to install is npm. I have installed it a while back. I don’t remember how i did install it. But i just found this command which should do the trick:
sudo npm install npm -g

next thing to do is install the script you found with the command:

sudo npm install -g xbox-on

When the install is finished it will look something like this:
pi@raspberrypi:~ $ sudo npm install -g xbox-on
/usr/bin/xbox-on -> /usr/lib/node_modules/xbox-on/cli.js
/usr/lib
└─┬ [email protected]
├── [email protected]
└─┬ [email protected]
└── [email protected]

So the only thing you need to do right now is to create a command_line switch in home assistant by adding this to your configuration.yaml;

- platform: command_line
  switches:
    xboxone:
      command_on: '/usr/lib/node_modules/xbox-on/cli.js -i 192.168.1.15 -l FDXXX1F0XXXXXDXC'
      command_off: ""

As you can see for the on command i used the path what was given during the installation (i made it bold for you)
it is followed by -i -l < your_live_device_id>

after a restart of Home Assistant you should see the switch.

I hope this helps you out and thank you for finding the script.

3 Likes

First of all thank you for replying

I’m not running in on a raspberry pi. I have a hyperv server core installed at home. I have it running in a VM
Im running it on the latest version of debian

The install commands are diffrent then you suggested

I did the following:

apt-get install npm

So the npm is installed