Type float invalid option

Hi, I am new to HA and ESPHome so I hope this isn’t user error. I have a few NodeMCUs working with ESPHome, these are just sensors that send data back to HA. They work fine. I am now trying to add a new device that will take a value as input (0-255) and I want to take that value and pass it from a NodeMCU running ESPHome firmware via SPI to control a device.

I am following the examples for Custom Output (sorry, I can’t include link before I’m a new user).

and when I compile, I get:

INFO Reading configuration /config/esphome/dpot.yaml…
Failed config

light.custom: [source /config/esphome/dpot.yaml:76]
platform: custom

[type] is an invalid option for [light.custom]. Please check the indentation.
type: float [source /config/esphome/dpot.yaml:77]
lambda: |-
auto my_custom_float_output = new MyCustomFloatOutput();
App.register_component(my_custom_float_output);
return {my_custom_float_output};
lights:
- name: dpotstuff

Here is my config:

output:

• platform: custom
    type: float
    lambda: |-
    auto my_custom_float_output = new MyCustomFloatOutput();
    App.register_component(my_custom_float_output);
    return {my_custom_float_output};

It seems this was an issue someone had before: https://github.com/esphome/issues/issues/50

But I am not sure how to fix this. I am running this in Hass.io on a Raspberry Pi, so I am not exactly sure how to get to esphomeyaml/components/output/custom.py to see if it’s fixed?

I did try to run the dev branch to see if it’s fixed from 1.15.3, but same error.

I don’t need float, since the value I am passing are whole numbers between 0-255, but I am not enough of a programmer to figure out from the example how to make it work. Please help. :slight_smile:

It was supposed to be fixed in Jan 2019, but it still seems to be a problem in 1.15.3?