Ubuntu gpio home assistant

I am having trouble with HA, I have a raspberry pi 4 that runs Ubuntu 20.04 LTS using snap to run the HA server. I am very new to home assistant, I am hoping that there is a better way to run it other than virtually. Wit that being said I am trying to figure out a way, so that I can read the state of gpio pin to trigger a script to run. I know that I can install a mqtt broker server and use node red to send the change to home assistant, but is there a better way, where I don’t have to rely on a mqtt server?

There is this, that being said some people have reliability issues with this integration (missing changes in gpio state), it works fine for me ATM, YMMV:

Are you doing anything on the RPi that you need to be running Ubuntu? You can’t quite do everything you would on Ubuntu, but you can still do quite a bit. The only limitations I ran into in running my own docker containers outside of the officially supported HA was was some hardware passthrough limitations (BT), aside from that I have been able to run HAOS with no reprecussions.

Home Assistant OS is probably your best bet starting out here. Then you can access this.

I don’t think it will work for the HA gpio integration, but if you need to be on Ubuntu you probably want to be on 21.xx branch on RPi4, quite a few improvements over the LTS branch for ARM and the Pi, both from the newer kernels (5.13 now) and Ubuntu updates.

Does this work with Ubuntu? I was under the impression it required Rpi.Gpio which Ubuntu doesn’t use on 21.xx, it uses LGPIO. 20.xx doesn’t have GPIO access on the rpi