Unable to find how to get HA to tell me what time it is

I can ask Alexa “Alexa, what time is it?” and I get a reply. I am trying to do this disconnected from the internet. Does anybody have an idea? I am new to Home Assistant but I can voice control my lights.

Are you using Alexa to voice control your lights? If so do you have a Home Assistant Cloud subscription, or are you using a custom integration?

I am moving over to HA from Alexa. I am in a high risk zone for hurricanes and go without internet for too long. I am using HA for what Alexa once did for me.

I am older, handicapped and live alone. I am trying to automate everything I can as soon as I can, Thank you for any help. Once I get a few tasks under my belt I should be able to modify more for other uses.

I have setup date/time as a helper but so many instructions over the web involve hardware I dont have. My server has date/time I thought it would be easy to send a “now” time to TTS to get current time but I dont know how to do that.

I use Piper text to speech and it works very well over my RaspiAudio Muse Luxe. Not sure where or if this would work “The time is {{ now().strftime(‘%H %M’) }}”

I use an HA automation that says “X minutes after Y pm” or “X minutes until Y am.”

alias: Assist Tell Time
description: Voice Assistant Tell the Time
trigger:
  - platform: conversation
    command:
      - What is the time
      - Tell me the time
      - What time is it
      - Give me the time
      - Time please
condition: []
action:
  - set_conversation_response: |-
      {% set hour = now().hour %}  
      {% set minute = now().minute %}  
      {% set ampm = "AM" %}  
      {% if hour > 12 %}
        {% set hour = hour - 12 %}
        {% set ampm = "PM" %}
      {% endif %}  
      {% if minute < 30 %}
          The time is now {{minute}} minutes after {{hour}} {{ampm}}
      {% elif minute == 30 %}
          The time is now {{hour}} {{minute}} {{ampm}}
      {% elif minute > 30 %}