Understanding the HA, tha HA-Config files and Secret.yaml in special

Hey Guys, I’m the new Kid in town, I just started to play around with HA.
I have used other home automatino before, like OpenHAB and iobroker but I never liked that Java stuff because it is always a ressource killer. Not that I don’t have enough CPU Power and RAM available but it still is all kind of slow responding.

I really like that about HA. A friend of mine pointed me here and also is starting from scratch at the moment.

I took the slightly harder aproach and not just setup a RaspberryPi, I have Home-Assistant running inside an LXC container hosted by Proxymox and run HA on plain Debian Stretch.

The documentation is a bit of an issue to me. There are often code snipits but sometimes it seems they are not very complete, so it’s hard to learn. I would say about myself I’m not a Linux professional but also not a total noob. So I think I can read and follow documentation and guides.

Never the less, the installation was kind of straight forward. I think I still miss some debian packages, but also figured out to install some, already.
It took me a while to understand that I don’t have the components “shop” available (becasue I did not install haasio) but it seems all components are just there and I can just use them. So it would be really nice to have a getting started guide for intermediate users like me, even though the PI-way probably is the easier one but I have Proxmox Running anyway, so it doesn’t really make sense for me, similar to the usage of Docker.

Please don’t get me wrong, this is my first post here and I do a lot of complaing, but I see this as good way to contribute to such a project. Especially because I have no experience with HA so far and I’m probably not the only person haveing such (minor) problems getting started.