Unifi AP -- noob question

I am a total beginner at this, with no coding experience, though learning as I go.

Want to use the Unifi AP integration to detect when my phone is within my home wi-fi range. I have two Unifi APs. Reading the HASS page here

it has an example of an entry I need to make to the configuration.yaml file:

# Example configuration.yaml entry
device_tracker:
  - platform: unifi_direct
    host: YOUR_AP_IP_ADDRESS
    username: YOUR_USERNAME
    password: YOUR_PASSWORD

However, this only mentions ONE AP host, what if I have 2 or more ? do I enter multiple “deivce tracker” sections, one for each AP ? or can I enter the multiple IPs for the different AP’s in the one line, separated by commas ?

You would just repeat the last 4 lines to set up a second connection, but I guess this device tracking is done by looking up the ARP tables and ARP tables are compiled based on broadcast packets, that should be received by all network devices, so one connection should be enough.

@WallyR

Many Thanks for the note Wally !

I know this has been solved already, but most people with more than a single AP use some type of WLAN controller like a cloud key or a UDMP or even the unifi controller software.

If you are using one of those, there’s an integration you can point directly at that instead of messing with this AP nonsense.

1 Like

Can you explain what you mean?

I run an UDM SE but I had to implement the AP tracking to get it work.
If I’m right you are saying I dont need the AP tracking but I can use an integration straight out of the box?

What is the additional point of using Unifi integration based device tracking on top of pinging a static ip based one? Ping is universal and as long as your device is not going to sleep and disconnecting wifi, it is much more straightforward.

I found this didn’t work with a phone (iPhone). The phone wifi goes into power saving mode and ping packets are not reliably returned.

1 Like