"unsupported installation" after updating supervisor

I am running HA on a Raspi3, installed HassOS via an image years ago. As the system was working, I didn’t update for a long time, HA is on 0.103.3. Thought it’s time to update and started with the supervisor… and now I’m in the "You are running an unsupported installation. " mode… under “learn more”, the list of issues is rather long:

Supervisor doesn’t see the OS, only shows “Docker version 17.06.0-dev”.
I never messed with the OS or other components, completely relied on what was installed via the hassio image and updates triggered through the UI… I suspect my OS is just outdated? I’m not very experienced with linux systems… the links on these issues keep sending me towards the “convenience installation script”, decorated with “This installation method is for advanced users only”

What’s the best way to get this fixed? Do I really need to start from scratch with a new image?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Unless there is some other reason for concern and everything is working as expected then i don’t see any reason at all to worry about the “unsupported” message.

It’s unusual that you are getting those warnings given that you are using Home Assistant OS. It’s supposed to manage all that so you don’t.

In contrast, some users of Home Assistant Supervised are getting some of those messages (including me) because they have installed it on Ubuntu or Arch Linux or some other distro. Only Debian is officially supported for Home Assistant Supervised.

FWIW, I would not count on its stability if it report those messages. My system runs HA Supervised on Ubuntu and it has been reporting ‘unhealthy’ for the last few days and today it crashed (first time ever for me).

1 Like

Thanks Taras and finity.