Update on GivTCP latest version

@britkat I did a new thread because as a new user I’m not allowed another reply in the primary >_<

The latest version worked as I expected with the intermittent failures but I am now starting to get a working dashboard up and can soon put some logic in as well. Thank you for this - wish GivEnergy just provided it out of the box but it is working thanks to you!

On the errors I am gradually applying the code snippet posted by @MagicMagicD which ignores the failing calls. I am not a good coder so it’s been trial and error till it works but I’m going in the right direction.

My final struggle is to derive a value for the current demand from the house. I think it can be done (as GivEnergy do it in their dashboard) from PV, discharge, import and export numbers but wow, the syntax required is giving me a migraine - I can get by in bash and php but this is plain ugly :slight_smile:

Again - thanks to both of you - much appreciated

Mike, the value you are trying to derive is Load Power. It is provided through GivTCP. Let me know if you can’t find it

I’ve setup a ‘mock’ dashboard that looks like part of the GivEnergy one:

This is using two Glance card’s for the top two rows and an ApexChart card for the main graph, all wrapped inside a custom grid-based layout to enable it to scale better.

I’d hoped to be able to get it to show previous days too but the ApexChart card doesn’t support it right now – I’ve dropped a feature request to the author to see if it can be added that way, otherwise I may end up forking it and doing it myself – it’ll just take longer as I have very little free time.

1 Like

Thank you! - I had looked through them but missed it. That saves me a ton of paracetamol… However, I should probably try to figure out how to use calculated sensor values as it will likely come in useful at some point, but later :slight_smile: