Update scene data on the fly

Hi all,

I’m fairly new to HA, migrating over from openHAB. I’m having some trouble creating some of my smart home behaviors.

I have an rgb led strips that I want to have some presets I can change through but also to update it on the fly form the Lovelace UI.

I defined my light in configuration.yaml and managed to define two scenes like so:

# snippet from scenes.yaml
- name: sink_lights_day_mode
  icon: "hass:weather-sunny"
  entities:
    light.sink_lights:
      state: "on"
      rgb_color: [255,255,178]
      brightness: 255
- name: sink_lights_night_mode
  icon: "hass:weather-night"
  entities:
    light.sink_lights:
      rgb_color: [255,36,0]
      brightness: 223

In order to cycle between them I than defined an input boolean with the following automation:

#snippet from automations.yaml
- alias: "Sink Lights Day Mode"
  trigger:
    - platform: state
      entity_id: input_boolean.sink_lights_toogle
      to: "on"
  action:
    - service: scene.turn_on
      target:
        entity_id: scene.sink_lights_day_mode

- alias: "Sink Lights Night Mode"
  trigger:
      entity_id: input_boolean.sink_lights_toogle
      to: "off"
  action:
      target:
        entity_id: scene.sink_lights_night_mode

So far so good- I have a switch in Lovelace that I can switch on to turn the light to “Day” mode and off for “Night”.
But what I can’t seems to do is dynamically change those RGB and Brightness values for the scene. What I would like to do is have another button that I can press and set whatever color that is on right now as one of those scenes.

I tried to create a new scene on the fly with this automation:

- alias: "Update Sink Light Day Scene"
  trigger:
      entity_id: input_boolean.test_switch
  action:
    - service: scene.create
      data_template:
        scene_id: sink_lights_day_mode_runtime
        entities:
          light.sink_lights:
            rgb_color: "{{state_attr('sink_lights','rgb_color')}}"