Using a single sensor to turn lights on and off

Hi all,

I’m quite new to the whole Home Assistant thing, so i’m going to try to explain my objective in accordance with the topic instructing how to ask the best questions and I would be very happy if anyone knows how to work this.

So this is the set up. I have a Phillips Hue motion sensor hanging in the dooropening to my bedroom. I have a light hanging in the middle of my bedroom. I am using the sensor at this moment (using HA, while previously using Phillips’ own automation options) to turn the light on and after 5 min to turn the light af. This between 07.00 and 23.00. I’m currently using ‘occupancy’ detection and not motion because for some reason that works best as an actual motion sensor.

So this is what i am trying to do:
Trigger: Sensor detects motion
Condition: light off
Action: turn light on

Trigger: Sensor detects motion
Condition: light on
Action: turn light off.

I have no problem getting the first one to work, but for some reaons the sensor doesnt trigger for the second one for some reason. I have taken a look at this with a neighbour far better at automation and HA but we couldn’t figure it out ourselves. It seems to have to do with the sort of restart time the sensor needs to clean out the trigger signal.

So here’s my question:

• Can anyone figure out a solution to turn the lights both on and off based on the single motion sensor
  • Does anyone know what the time lag that is required to have the sensor eligible to have a new trigger?

The sensor will have a predefined amount of time that it stays ‘on’ after it’s triggered before it turns ‘off’ after no motion. It’s usually a few seconds, on some sensors you can reconfigure this delay but I’ve never seen a need for it. Some motion sensors will then drop to ‘off’ and then immediately turn ‘on’ again as motion continues.