Using CAN-Bus, Websocket, GPIO

Hello
I am a beginner in Home Assistant. For my home automation I want to use a multi-master CAN Bus with 30 CAN-nodes. Sending messages from HA is probably not the problem. But I am not sure how to listen to the bus and recognize every message on the bus without a possibility of interrupts.
My hardware components are:
Raspberry Pi 3
CAN Bus:
Tiny-CAN II-XL (http://www.mhs-elektronik.de/index.php?module=artikel&action=artikel&id=3) with a API for C# and Python. (preferred)
Or:
PiCAN2 (http://skpang.co.uk/catalog/pican2-canbus-board-for-raspberry-pi-23-p-1475.html) with the SocketCAN driver.

So here are my questions:

1. Is it possible to send, receive and handle CAN messages with one of these two CAN adapters and a bus speed of 125 kbit/s in HA?
  2. How can I recognize a short (<1/125000 s) HIGH-signal on a GPIO and process the message with the python API?
    Or:
  3. How can I recognize an incoming message on a websocket and process it?
    I hope someone can give me an advice.

Thank you for your answer.

Did you make any progress with this? I also have a CAN-bus based domotica system and would love to get it talking to HA.

U can use this module
https://ucandevices.github.io/uccb.html#!#python

1 Like

Hello!

I would like to communicate with my Stiebel Eltron heatpump (WPL 18 cool). Itā€™s using can bus for internal communication between stiebel components.
I plan to use a Basic(UCCB) can adapter. The integration doesnā€™t exist, but there are some python examples around to start with. I plan to capture and analize the can communication, and then create my own component for it.
The question is that this can adapter has two firmware options on this page:
https://www.tindie.com/products/lll7/can-usb-converter-uccb/
SocketCan GS_USB (Linux only)
and
Virtual COM Port (SLCAN)
I suppose Iā€™ll have to buy it with Linux compatible firmware, but please someone confirmā€¦