Using current price compared to average price to cut electricity price peak, help!

Hi

I need some help with Template IF/ELSE logic.

RPI 4, Home Assistant Core Installed version 2022.5.2

I´m trying to make an automation starting and stopping my circulation pump for my underfloor heating when the electricity price (from Tibber) is higher than 20% of the average price of the day (since I’m a beginner I want to start with something and take if from there, I know there is more sophisticated ways but for me it would be a great start).

I have used this automation https://www.home-assistant.io/integrations/tibber/ and made adjustments to it to fit my needs (so I thought). I’m testing my code in the developer tool template, and it gives me a true or false value.

{{ float(states('sensor.electricity_price_XXX_33')) > 1.2 * float(state_attr('sensor.electricity_price_XXX_33', 'avg_price')) }}

I have looked at this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GnW0mLt2YLg(Home Assistant Templates - A Beginner's Guide - YouTube) abt Template with IF/ELSE and also adjusted my code with {% etc but it just returns error:

Error message “TypeError: ‘<’ not supported between instances of ‘str’ and ‘float’

{% if states('sensor.electricity_price_XXX_33') > 1.2 * float(state_attr('sensor.electricity_price_XXX_33', 'avg_price')) %}

True

{% else %}

False

{% endif %}

When using the first code {{ float(states(‘sensor.electricity_price_XXX_33’)) > 1.2 * float(state_attr(‘sensor.electricity_price_XXX_33’, ‘avg_price’)) }} trying to create a automation it just turning on and of the pump every hour. I´m using a template as a trigger and time pattern 1 minute (just like the tibber high electricity price code).

alias: PUMP OFF

description: ''

trigger:

- platform: time_pattern

minutes: '1'

- platform: template

value_template: >-

{{ float(states('sensor.electricity_price_XXX_33')) > 1.2 *

float(state_attr('sensor.electricity_price_XXX_33',

'avg_price')) }}

condition: []

action: