Using Home Assistant with IR controlled devices

Dear all, I wrote an article about setting up a Wi-Fi remote control device with Home Assistant: Using Home Assistant with IR controlled devices - autostatic.com

Maybe this topic could be used for questions or for sharing information. If desired I could summarize the article here.

Jeremy

3 Likes

Thanks for the share :wink: Did u think about using ESPHome instead ? as you can pass parameters between HA and ESPHome perhaps get a generic IR flash firmware for ESP devices and send IR codes straight from HA ? :slight_smile:

Hello Vincèn, thanks for the tip! I have zero experience with ESPHome and wanted an integration with my existing devices. But I’ll look into ESPHome, if it integrates better than what I’ve cooked up the choice is clear.

It’s a nice endeavor, but with the Broadlink / Bestcon RM4C Mini supported out-of-the-box by HA and at the same price as the no-name IR blaster to be tasmotized, not sure it’s worth the hassle, tbh.

Hello Chris, thanks for bringing up a fully supported solution! To be honest, hadn’t encountered this solution yet. If it doesn’t need an external service then I guess that is indeed the way to go. Thanks again!

Yep should make it a lot easier (both by no needs of mqtt in the middle) and ability to send variables from HA to ESP which should allow to get a generic fw independant of IR device controlled :wink:

do you have some links about that ? and how do you select IR codes to send ? Side note: for price of that device I’m able to build at least 5 ESP with IR emitter :wink:

https://www.amazon.com/Bestcon-Universal-Compatible-Assistant-Broadlink/dp/B085WYQ1XM/ref=sr_1_3?crid=G39V1JZP7ITV&keywords=rm4c+mini&qid=1641376857&sprefix=rm4c+mini%2Caps%2C265&sr=8-3

Not sure you have the full BOM, here, including workload :wink: