Using multiple ZigBee coordinators with ZigBee2Mqtt (SLZB-06)

Dear all

I have been using ZigBee, Mosquitto and HA for a while and have run into an issue that I hope you guys can help me with. Any hint is valuable since I am not a pro.

I started out with a good USB dongle from slae.sh and later I have also used the LAN/PoE based SLZB-06, I was happy with both of them.

Now I wanted to expand my ZigBee network to cover all of my house and I saw that Smlight (the makers of slzb06) said that it is possible to use multiple SLZB-06’s. I got another one and tried to set it up. And here comes the problem: It seems to me that I need to have 2 instances of ZigBee2Mqtt running and hence I get 2 separate ZigBee networks. I have found a temporary way for this to work by running one coordinator with ZigBee2Mqtt, and the other coordinator connecting to the another instance of the edge version of ZigBee2Mqtt. In this way they can both fit into my Mosquitto and HA, but not in a very elegant way. And next I would like to add another SLZB-06 coordinator, what then.

So what do you guys suggest, perhaps keep the number of coordinators at 1 and use routers instead?
Or is there a more elegant way to have two coordinators cooperate in one network?

Or your brilliant idea?

BR David

This is the way Zigbee is intended to work. Most coordinators easily handle 32 devices at the first hop and many more beyond. Yes some coordinators do better than others but unless you have a network with literally hundreds of devices there’s rarely a need for multiple networks. (which to avoid interference, each need to be on its own channel that also avoids your WiFi setup)

Unless the network is stressed im staying with one simplicity matters.

1 Like

If running the add-ons, that is the way. For a third you could use a pi zero w2 or something like that.

But you can flash the SLZB-06 with router firmware, and extend the network like that.

1 Like

Hi Nathan,